Number 3 – The Buffalo

For my third painting I took on a rather ambitious topic (again!) given that it was only my third painting. I decided to paint this strange scene of a buffalo that is sneezing. I painted it in 2011 and it took me just 3 hours to complete!

3 - Buffel

This painting once again contains strong contrasts (seemingly something that is characteristic of my paintings). There are strong points of symmetry and asymmetry in some cases, both which are good. I feel that the head of the buffalo came out OK, but that the background was lacking in something. The whole scene was somewhat fuzzy, which is not bad in itself, although I probably intended it to be a little more crisp. I added the grass in the bottom, but that appears a little amateurish. I would have done that differently were I to repeat the painting.

Leave a comment