Number 7 – Fish eagle

Being on a roll, I decided to venture into another area, this time that of painting birds. I am struggling to get the depth of colour that is portrayed on the painting into the photo, so apologies for that.

7 - Visarend

The painting is based on a painting by Phil Owens taken in 2010 at the Mabalingwe Game Reserve. This was really difficult to do since, for some or other reason, the reflection of light off the feathers is not as I expected it to be. I struggled to get depth into the painting and it still feels somewhat 2-dimensional to me. I am not sure what to do to make it more life-like.

I think the water lilies are realistic and presents an aspect of depth and colour into the painting that contrasts the eagle.

I am not sure that eagles/birds is my thing…

Please comment.

Leave a comment