My first plein air work

For my first plein air (painting/drawing something on location) work, I used a frame and grid to determine the proportions.  I tried to cram as much detail as possible into the image and was satisfied as it is a good resemblance of the actual house.  Looking at it now, I think the colours could have been more intense, but it is a good representation of the actual building and garden.

Burgerstreet 4, De Rust

Burgerstreet 4, De Rust

My second plain air approach was to sketch the house directly across the road from the house above.  This is the house where we stay during our De Rust holidays.  This was quite a difficult painting as I had to add enough shadows to make it believable whilst not making the painting “muddy”.  I am reasonable satisfied with the outcome.  At a point of interest, I caught a criminal that escaped from the local prison while doing this sketch.

Burgerstraat 3, De Rust

Burgerstraat 3, De Rust

Leave a comment