Mount Kazbegi

Most painters will be able to tell you that getting the colour right is the key to a successful painting. I have been using my iPad Pro with ProCreate over the last couple of months with great success to duplicate other paintings or to paint from images. This morning was my first attempt to use ProCreate to do an oil-like painting from real-life. My subject was Mount Kazbegi in Georgia as seen from our guest house. I have not done many plein air paintings of mountains, so I had to play with value and colour. I have a couple of pre-set palates in ProCreate, which helps to create some boundaries and so that everything is not going all crazy. This is actually exactly what successfull landscape painters such as Scott L. Christesson says. Here suggests using a limited palette to reduce the amount of colour decisions you have to make and ensuring that you focus more on the right values than on mixing millions of colours.

Overall the result is satisfactory for a first attept. I think I should try to perform a grey-scale or sepia plain air paintng of the mountains to train my eye to see the correct vales.

Leave a comment